Home
Email Hoaxes
Urban Legends
Chain Letters
Email Spam
Email Scams
Health Warnings
Scary and True email
Junk Email Blog

Can-AM ATV Accessories

Can-AM Spyder

List Of Best Cruise Deals Across The Net

Big Tip Of The Day

 

This is a FAKE email intended to look like it's from paypal and hoping I'll click the link (it's disabled in this example) and give out my personal and financial information.

I'll tell you some of what's wrong with it at the end some wrong's are highlighted in red.

Subject: PayPal Email ID PP321
Sender: "service@email.paypal.com"

Dear PayPal User,
We recently noticed one or more attempts to log in to your PayPal
account from a foreign IP address.

If you recently accessed your account while traveling, the unusual log in attempts may have been initiated by you. However, if you did not initiate the log ins, please visit PayPal as soon as possible to update your account:

https://www.paypal.com/us/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_login-run
(the text on the link isn't where it was going - see below)

Changing your password is a security measure that will ensure that you are the only person with access to the account.

Thanks for your patience as we work together to protect your account.
Sincerely,
PayPal
----------------------------------------------------------------
PROTECT YOUR PASSWORD
NEVER give your password to anyone, including PayPal employees. Protect yourself against fraudulent websites by opening a new web browser (e.g. Internet Explorer or Netscape) and typing in the PayPal URL every time you log in to your account.
Please do not reply to this email. This mailbox is not monitored and you will not receive a response. For assistance, log in to your PayPal account and click the Help link located in the top right corner of any PayPal page.
PayPal Email ID PP321

How Did I know this was a fake?

Well first of all, it came to an email address that doesn't exist and that has no paypal account attached to it.  Many of these folks search domains and send out mail to good guess addresses this one was to sales@mydomain.com

Secondly when I put my mouse over the official looking link, the status bar showed me where I'd really be going...

http://metrointer.metropolitanadeseguros.com.ni/
.us/index.php?MfcISAPICommand=SignInFPP

Not looking much like a paypal site to me

Finally even if the link looked kind of like it might be a paypal site, like http://www.service-paypal-investigation.com, paypal's sites are secure, always start with https:

Visit Paypal's fraudulent email page at https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=xpt/general/SecuritySpoof-outside for information about how to spot a spoof or phishing email and what to do with it (forward it to them - the email address is spoof@paypal.com)

  • Local business
  • BBB Advice on Giving to Tornado Relief Charities
  • Staunton Police Warn of New Email Scam
  • Website and Logo Design by Kaediem

    Home About Site Map Webmaster Resources
    Been Scammed? Find A Lawyer Junk Resources Articles Email Scams
    Urban Legends Email Hoaxes Chain Letters Fake Health Warnings Scary & True Stories